District councils

This page describes the work of the five district councils in Oxfordshire.

District councillors also represent geographical areas called a ward and these areas are smaller than the county council divisions. You can view ward boundaries on a map using the Oxfordshire Administrative Areas Map.

Which district do you you live in?

West Oxfordshire District CouncilVale of White Horse District CouncilSouth Oxfordshire District CouncilOxford City CouncilCherwell District CouncilCherwell District Council

District council elections

District councils can have their elections in one of three ways:

  • By thirds - one third of the council's seats being elected three years in every four
  • By halves - one half of the council's seat being elected every two years
  • Whole council elections - all seats contested once every four years

District council services

The main services provided by the five Oxfordshire district councils include:

  • environmental health
  • housing
  • leisure and recreation
  • planning applications
  • waste collection

District council leadership

Cherwell and South Northants

Chief Executive, Yvonne Rees
Tel: 0300 003 0100
yvonne.rees@cherwellandsouthnorthants.gov.uk

Executive Assistant to the Chief Executive, Jackie Gillespie
Tel: 01327 322302
jackie.gillespie@cherwellandsouthnorthants.gov.uk

Oxford City

Chief Executive, Gordon Mitchell
gmitchell@oxford.gov.uk

Senior PA to Leader & CE, Emma Mace
Tel: 01865 252354
emace@oxford.gov.uk

South and Vale

Chief Executive, Mark Stone
Tel: 01491 823103
Fax: 01491 823104
mark.stone@southandvale.gov.uk

Personal Assistant, Sharon Lee
sharon.lee@southandvale.gov.uk
01235 422099

West Oxon

Chief Executive, David Neudegg
david.neudegg@westoxon.gov.uk

Guest, Mrs Joanna Neudegg

Personal Assistant, Mandy Smith
Tel: 01993 861613
mandy.smith@westoxon.gov.uk