Oxfordshire County Council logo

District councils

This page describes the work of the five district councils in Oxfordshire.

District councillors also represent geographical areas called a ward and these areas are smaller than the county council divisions. You can view ward boundaries on a map using the Oxfordshire Administrative Areas Map.

Which district do you you live in?

District council elections

District councils can have their elections in one of three ways:

  • By thirds - one third of the council's seats being elected three years in every four
  • By halves - one half of the council's seat being elected every two years
  • Whole council elections - all seats contested once every four years

District council services

The main services provided by the five Oxfordshire district councils include:

  • environmental health
  • housing
  • leisure and recreation
  • planning applications
  • waste collection

District council leadership

Cherwell

Chief Executive, Yvonne Rees
Tel: 0300 003 0100
yvonne.rees@cherwellandsouthnorthants.gov.uk

Executive Assistant to the Chief Executive, Angela McRury
angela.mcrury@cherwell-dc.gov.uk

Oxford City

Chief Executive, Caroline Green 
cgreen@oxford.gov.uk

Senior PA to Leader & CE, Emma Mace
Tel: 01865 252354
emace@oxford.gov.uk

South and Vale

Chief Executive, Mark Stone
Tel: 01491 823103
Fax: 01491 823104
mark.stone@southandvale.gov.uk

Personal Assistant, Sharon Lee
sharon.lee@southandvale.gov.uk
01235 422099

West Oxon

Chief Executive, Giles Hughes 
giles.hughes@westoxon.gov.uk

Personal Assistant, Mandy Smith
Tel: 01993 861613
mandy.smith@publicagroup.uk