A new organisation is providing adoption services - but there will be minimum change for users.

Adoption services from December 2017

From December 2017, Oxfordshire adoption services will be provided by a new organisation called Adopt Thames Valley Regional Adoption Agency, a service shared across seven local authorities.

Oxfordshire County Council will employ the staff of Adopt Thames Valley and also provide the systems and services to support the new agency.

Local authority social workers and other staff will move to the new service to help ensure minimum disruption and change for our service users. 

Adopt Thames Valley Regional Adoption Agency website.

How it will work

The new organisation will operate across seven local authority areas in the Thames Valley:

  • Bracknell Forest
  • Oxfordshire
  • Reading
  • Swindon
  • Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead
  • West Berkshire
  • Wokingham
  • The Berkshire Adoption Advisory Service

It will work closely with the adoption charity PACT and Barnardo’s (Voluntary Adoption Agencies) and Cornerstone (Social Enterprise).

As services move to join Adopt Thames Valley, its key prioritities are continuity and consistency of support. 

There are no plans to change workers or end support arrangements, groups or other services as a result of these changes.

Oxford office

You will not have to travel further to access services. Adopt Thames Valley will be based in three offices across the Thames Valley:

  • Oxford (Cowley)
  • Woodley (near Reading)
  • Swindon.

Staff will be able to use the offices in each of our member local authorities.

Reasons for the changes

By working together across a larger area services for children, adopters, special guardians, birth relatives and others can be improved. 

In 2015, the government set out guidance that requires that all local authorities should provide adoption services through a regional adoption agency. 

More information

More information and contact details about Adopt Thames Valley.