District councils | Oxfordshire County Council

District councils

This page describes the work of the five district councils in Oxfordshire.

District councillors also represent geographical areas called a ward and these areas are smaller than the county council divisions. The number of councillors on each district council varies. You can view ward boundaries on a map using Oxfordshire LocalView.

Which district do you you live in?

West Oxfordshire District Council Vale of White Horse District Council South Oxfordshire District Council Oxford City Council Cherwell District Council Cherwell District Council

District council elections

District councils can have their elections in one of three ways:

  • By thirds - one third of the council's seats being elected three years in every four
  • By halves - one half of the council's seat being elected every two years
  • Whole council elections - all seats contested once every four years

District council services

The main services provided by the five Oxfordshire district councils include:

  • environmental health
  • housing
  • leisure and recreation
  • planning applications
  • waste collection

District council leadership

Cherwell and South Northants

Chief Executive, Sue Smith
Guest, Derek Smith

Tel: 0300 003 0100
sue.smith@cherwellandsouthnorthants.gov.uk

Senior Executive Assistant, Peta Miers
01295 221573
peta.miers@cherwellandsouthnorthants.gov.uk

Oxford Citypeter sloman

Chief Executive, Peter Sloman
psloman@oxford.gov.uk

Senior PA to Leader & CE, Emma Mace
Tel: 01865 252354
emace@oxford.gov.uk

South and Vale Photo of Mark Stone

Acting Chief Executive, Mark Stone
Tel: 01491 823103
Fax: 01491 823104
mark.stone@southandvale.gov.uk

Personal Assistant, Sharon Lee
sharon.lee@southandvale.gov.uk
01235 422099

West Oxon

Chief Executive, David Neudegg
david.neudegg@westoxon.gov.uk

Guest, Mrs Joanna Neudegg

Personal Assistant, Mandy Smith
Tel: 01993 861613
mandy.smith@westoxon.gov.uk

Last reviewed
26 September 2017
PrintPrint Short linkShort link to this pageGive us feedback on this pageFeedback form, opens in new window.
Access key details Skip to main content Home News Sitemap Search Website help Complaints Terms and conditions Website feedback