County council election 2013 results

Following the election on 2 May, no single party obtained a clear majority of 32 seats.

Turnout: 30%

Seats won

32 seats are needed for control of the council.

Con: 31, Lab: 15, Lib Dem: 11, Independent: 4, Green: 2

Results by division

Click the map for detailed division results. Division results in alphabetical order.

Map of divisionsSutton Courtenay & MarchamWallingfordWheatleyNorth HinkseyWolvercote & SummertownSt Margaret'sShrivenhamWroxton & Hook NortonUniversity ParksWitney West & BamptonKingston & CumnorSonning CommonSt Clement's & Cowley MarshPloughleyKennington & RadleyHenley-on-ThamesRose Hill & LittlemoreKirtlington & Kidlington NorthFaringdonGoringHendreds & HarwellWitney South & CentralOtmoorDidcot WestMarston & NorthwayWitney North & EastDidcot LadygroveAbingdon SouthKidlington SouthDeddingtonJericho & OsneyDidcot East & HagbourneLeysHanborough & Minster LovellChalgrove & WatlingtonGrove & WantageBloxham & EasingtonThame & ChinnorEynshamBicester WestIsisHeadington & QuarryChipping NortonBicester TownAbingdon NorthBicester NorthBerinsfield & GarsingtonCharlbury & WychwoodIffley Fields & St Mary'sBanbury HardwickCarterton South & WestBanbury CalthorpeBanbury Grimsbury & CastleBanbury RuscoteBenson & CholseyCowleyWoodstockAbingdon EastBarton, Sandhills & RisinghurstBurford & Carterton NorthChurchill & Lye Valley Banbury Grimsbury & Castle Banbury Hardwick Banbury Calthorpe Banbury Ruscote

Share of the vote

Con: 34%, Lab: 21%, Lib Dem: 16%, UKIP: 16%, Green: 9%, Independent: 3%,

What happens next?

The new Chairman, the Leader of the Council and the Leader of the Opposition will be appointed at the council’s annual meeting on 14 May, where the council’s decision-making arrangements for the forthcoming year will also be agreed.

Seats and electoral divisions

63 county council seats were up for election. This is a reduction to the current 74 seats on the Council as result of an electoral review of Oxfordshire County Council undertaken by the Local Government Boundary Commission. Read more about the new electoral divisions.

Last reviewed
13 January 2014
PrintPrint Give us feedback on this pageFeedback form, opens in new window.
Access key details Skip to main content Home News Sitemap Search Website help Complaints Terms and conditions Website feedback